14 Years

Standard

The-Wedding

Today is our 14th wedding anniversary. Fourteen years ago today I married my best friend on a beach in Belize. So many talk about how they wish to get married barefoot on the beach, but we actually did it. Mainly because the heels of my sandals kept sinking and making me trip. When I informed the wedding party we were all going barefoot my husband begged to wear shorts. That was where I drew the line.

I was one of the shortest persons in the wedding party. My husband is 6’4”; his best friend & best man, David is 6’10”; my matron of honor, Tracy is 6’1”; and I am 5’8-1/2” tall. The minister, of Mayan descent, is around 5’5” in height.

It was a lovely wedding cheered on by three balconies full of guests at the hotel we were staying. I had no idea they were in attendance until they clapped and hooted at us as we sealed our vows with a kiss. The ceremony is forever commemorated on VHS tape by Chris, Tracy’s husband. You can distinctly hear me say afterward “We did it! And, nobody died.” I don’t remember saying it, but it’s there for all to see & hear.

Later that evening as we were heading off by water taxi for our first dinner as husband and wife, our friends told us they were prepared to chase Gary down and drag him back to the alter if he ran. While I think they said that in jest, the thought that he might back out never entered my mind. And, here we are 14 years later still acting like newlyweds.

Oh, and, it’s Ground Hog Day. Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction is an early spring. With it being 77°F here today, I’d have to agree with him. But, next week could just as easily be back into the 30s. Such is Georgia weather. Now, General Beauregard Lee, Georgia’s very own ground hog, did not see his shadow either. General Lee has a much better prediction rate the Phil. And, as much as I’d love to have a real winter here, it looks like spring is coming sooner than later, ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

