Author Ian Smith

Standard

February 22, 2016

Today I’m am happy to interview Ian Smith, author of Dead & Alive: Survive (Book 1), INFINITY: Legend, Love, Honour (Book 1), and Infinity: Return of the Legends (2).

Dead and Alive Cover               Infinity Book 1 Cover               Infinity Book 2 Cover

CTC – Thank you so much, Ian, for taking time out of your busy schedule to spend a few moments with me today.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

IS – Pretty much from the moment I was born, my earliest memory was one of story telling. When I was 7 years old I won a school competition. It was an event open to all the junior schools in the town, I came first for my story about a lost world, I even still have it in my cupboard.

CTC – How long does it take you to write a book?

IS – It really depends, I have a problem where if I start something I must finish. I recently completed two books in 6 weeks, I have a notebook full of ideas, enough to keep me going for years. For me it is hard to stop, when I start I have to finish.

CTC – What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

IS – Full, my life is pretty busy either way. Working from home is a bonus, I have always had a very healthy work attitude, I get bored very easily, so doing nothing is something that never appeals to me.

CTC – What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

IS – Music, I usually write with music playing, especially orchestral, it helps me get my brain flowing. Also comfort, most write at a desk, I write on my bed, surrounded by all that I need.

CTC – Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

IS – Mostly my imagination, I can usually come up with something on the spot and out of the blue. The amount of books I have read over the years has supplied me with a very vivid imagination, in fact it is hard to turn it off sometimes.

CTC – When did you write your first book and how old were you?

IS – When I was 7, I wrote a 78 page book called the Lost World. Over the years I have written loads, but due to my then complicated life I never followed through and published.

CTC – What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

IS – I like my sports, I played rugby and boxing until I blew my knee out. I swim every other day and like to hit the weight when I can. Other than that I love to cook, and take long walks along the beach I find it helps my brain flow.

CTC – What does your family think of your writing?

IS – This is actually a difficult question. The most important person in my life was my mum, I worked long hours and was very career focused. I dreamed of writing but never found the time, one evening at work I received a phone call telling me both my parent were being rushed to hospital. Sadly my mum never came out and passed away with me at her side a few days later, I took her passing hard and really withdrew from the world. I hit rock bottom and realized at that moment how short life was and chose to follow my dream. I quit my Job and started along the road. My biggest wish is that my mother could have seen me follow that dream, my father is very supportive, he even pushed me to follow it by going out and buying me all new equipment to use. This is a long winded answer but I needed to explain that the only family I have is my father and I can hope my mother would be proud.

CTC – What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

IS – How easy I found it, I have an ability of making easy connections to my characters and received so many messages telling me the same. Also making so many new friends, people think of writers as loners, but the interaction with the readers is amazing, I would never change that.

CTC – How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

IS – I have written dozens, but only published three to date. My favorite, I am not sure I can answer that, each of my stories have their own rewards.

CTC – Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they?

IS – The best thing I can say is, don’t always listen to criticism, I have found many people have advice, telling you how to write and think when they have not even published or their book is terrible. I write from the heart, I write what I would want to read, keep true to yourself and the rest will follow.
It is a slow progress and it takes time, if you love writing the rest will always fall into place.

CTC – Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

IS – Everyday, Just yesterday I was told how great the chemistry with my characters flow, and how easy the story is to read. I get a minimum of 10 emails and messages a week asking me when the next book is coming.

CTC – Do you like to create books for adults?

IS – I like to write horror, but erotic is a big no no, it is just not my thing.

CTC – What do you think makes a good story?

IS – Your own excitement when writing it, if you are enjoying it, then the reader will. People like to read something easy, they want to disappear into the world of the book and not want to sit there falling asleep when reading.

CTC – As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

IS – Just be happy, my childhood was rough. I never dreamed of riches or fame, I just wanted to be happy with what I was doing. But obviously my main dream was writing or a spaceman haha!

CTC – Is there anything else that you would like for the audience to know?

IS – I think I am a nice guy, I love interaction. So please come and say “HI”. Look me up and join me on this journey.

CTC – You can find Ian’s books here:

http://www.amazon.com/I.J-Smith/e/B00YF1KATQ/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

You can follow him here:

http://ijsmith.weebly.com/

https://www.facebook.com/servo1981/

https://twitter.com/I_J_SMITH

Ian SmithGreat Britain has been evacuated and quarantined, access is forbidden. When a mysterious message is received, they send in a Army Section to investigate. What they discover will send them on a journey through hell, can they survive, can they make it out within 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

