Interview with Author Tania Hagan

Standard

CTC – Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Tania Hagan, author of the amazing dystopian novel, The Cure.

The Cure

Thank you so much for joining me and taking time to answer a few questions for my readers. Let’s get started, shall we?

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

TH – I sort of fell into news and feature writing right out of college. I didn’t know I would love writing fiction until I sat down to write The Cure.

CTC – How long does it take you to write a book?

TH – The Cure took about nine months. It’s a lengthy novel at 112 thousand words. The sequel is taking me about the same amount of time.

CTC – What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

TH – I do my best work in the morning, but I’ve been known to stay up late typing. I don’t really have a schedule, since I don’t have a day job.

CTC – What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

TH – I write whenever I get an idea. I literally stop in the grocery aisles to type into my phone, if an interesting concept hits me. I think that might be a quirk.

CTC – Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

TH – I try to think of topics that have not yet been explored.
My idea for The Cure series came out of a conversation I had with my brother. He was discussing another possible idea for a book about cloning. Suddenly it hit me–what would happen in human cloning was mandated by the government? What if the only legal way to procreate was through cloning?

CTC – When did you write your first book and how old were you?

TH – The Cure was my first book, and I was forty-something.

CTC – What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

TH – I’m a stay-at-home mom, so my daughter is my life.

CTC – What does your family think of your writing?

TH – My family is incredibly supportive. We come from a long line of media people, so I have professional eyes everywhere with my extended family.

CTC – What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

TH – The most surprising thing was that I actually could do it. I was also shocked at how quickly The Cure was picked up by my publisher.

CTC – How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

TH – I’ve written The Cure, and I’m nearly done with the sequel. I also have a part in the anthology, Lurking in the Shadows.
So, I’m fairly new to this business.

CTC – What is it about your writing that sets you apart from other authors?

TH – I think my writing is typically in plain, easy to follow language. My goal is to make the reader feel like he or she is experiencing the words, rather than reading them.
I also strive to make my subject matter different from anything anyone has ever read. I’m fairly confident I accomplished that goal with The Cure. Although Dystopian books are everywhere, no one has ever attempted a theme quite like mine. If I couldn’t come up with something entirely original, I don’t think I would be a writer.

CTC – Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they?

TH – The best advice I can give to anyone is to read, read, read!! You can’t write if you aren’t an avid reader.

CTC – Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

TH – I do! I’m blessed with the most amazing readers.
They tell me if they liked my book, and how it has affected them. We also just chat about life events in general. I’ve made some awesome friends through this whole process.

CTC – Do you like to create books for adults?

TH – So far, I’m primarily a YA author. I do have an upcoming short story for adults. It’s not adult content though. My writing is very tame.
It seems like The Cure somehow appeals to all ages, male and female. So, even though I write for a YA audience, everyone gets something out of my work.

CTC – What do you think makes a good story?

TH – A good story is anything that will stick with you. A reader once told me she knew my book was important to her because she remembered random scenes long after she finished the book. Comments like that make my day.

CTC – As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

TH – I wanted to be a teacher. I’ve been a preschool teacher. When I got married, all I wanted to do was to be a mommy. Being a mom is my number-one accomplishment.
I suppose we all change a bit from whatever we wanted to do as a child. I’m very content being a mom and an author.

CTC – Again, thank you, Tania, for allowing me to take up your time.

You can follow Tania Hagan here:

http://taniahagan.com/

https://twitter.com/tania_hagan

https://www.facebook.com/TaniaHaganAuthor/?fref=ts

http://smile.amazon.com/Tania-Hagan/e/B01BQ4M8YY/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1464463812&sr=8-1

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14739174.Tania_Hagan

Tania Hagan photo What do you do when the monster is you?

Leave a Reply

