A Medievil Dystopian

Standard

Sowing Cover

Rabreah and her sister, Ariliah, are on opposite sides of a brewing rebellion. Rabreah believes all that is wrong with their society is the ruling Hulcondans. Ariliah believes an unknown group of rebels is responsible for all of the unrest and evil doings. Who is right and who is wrong? What will happen once the two groups go head to head? Will the sisters fight together or be on opposite sides?

Grigaliunas’ first novel in The Purification Era, Sowing, is a refreshingly new take on a dystopian story. Its medieval setting is vividly painted with rich detail. The character development is some of the best I’ve ever read. I feel as though I know the protagonist duo as I would any of my friends. In fact, I’ve fussed at and laughed out loud at them. The supporting characters are equally well developed. The plot keeps you guessing and has several interesting twists. The story telling itself switches between the two sisters’ points of view. I found it fascinating at how very different they sometimes viewed the same event.  As with any first book in a series should, it leaves you wanting more.

I loved how the author was able to adapt the characters into a lifestyle during medieval times as though she had lived in that era herself. It’s a hard life without the conveniences and quick fixes that we have come to expect. It is evident that she put in a lot of research to get everything just right. This is one of the many reasons I rate this book with 5 out of 5 stars.

I received this book for free from the author for review consideration. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

Leave a Reply

