Interview with Author Adrienne Lecter

Standard

CTC:       Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Adrienne Lecter, author of the amazing zombie apocalypse series, Green Fields.

GF Incubation     GF Outbreak     GF Escalation

GF Extinction     GF Resurgence     GF Unity

Thank you so much for joining me and taking time to answer a few questions for my readers. Let’s get started, shall we?

When did you first realize that you wanted to be a writer?

AL:          When I started writing my first book at age 13, but it was much closer to 30 that I considered it in earnest.

CTC:       How long does it take you to write a book?

AL:          Anywhere from four weeks to six months. I try to get the first draft done in 6-8 weeks.

CTC:       What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

AL:          Ideally, I sit down in the morning and write until late afternoon, with some light editing and social media in the evening. Some days that works perfectly. Others, not so much. I usually finish writing my books at 3am after working myself to the bone for the last few days, so that should give you an idea how well my time management works.

CTC:       What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

AL:          Not sure if that counts, but I fully visualize my books before I sit down to write.

CTC:       Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

AL:          I love to do a lot of research, which as a former scientist who writes from a former scientist’s POV during the zombie apocalypse can get very interesting. I would be lost without YouTube and Google StreetView.

CTC:       When did you write your first book and how old were you?

AL:          I started in 1996 when I was 13, a few months after we got our first computer. That abomination will never see the light of day, but I have plans to revisit the world and do a complete re-write.

CTC:       What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

AL:          Read, play video games, ride my motorcycle. The usual 😉

CTC:       What does your family think of your writing?

AL:          Only my boyfriend has read my books, but my parents are surprisingly impressed with the fact that their daughter is a published author. Everyone is very supportive, which I consider a true blessing.

CTC:       What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

AL:          That as an Indie author you’re lucky if 50% of the work you do is actual writing. I never expected how much else there is to releasing books in multiple formats.

CTC:       How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

AL:          Written, close to 30, I think. Published under this name, 6; Under another penname, 13 altogether.

My favorite is Incubation, the first in the Green Fields series. It was the “make it” book in the “make it or break it” phase of my writing career.

CTC:       Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they?

AL:          Read. That’s really the best suggestion to hone your craft. Read, and write. Don’t re-write, don’t edit your one manuscript until it has lost all soul and voice. You need to create and be inspired as a writer, so keep the ball rolling!

CTC:       Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

AL:          They can be a chatty bunch, mostly on facebook and via email. I like to think that I’m doing something right, writing slightly off the beaten path in the zombie apocalypse genre. What a lot of readers mention (particularly when they recommend the books) is how dark and twisted they are. If it works for them, it sure works for me!

CTC:       Do you like to create books for adults?

AL:          Yes. I wouldn’t dare even consider writing for children. I’d traumatize them for life!

CTC:       What do you think makes a good story?

AL:          Great characters and an engaging plot. You need both. I’m also a huge fan of Stephen King’s idea of writing about what scares you the most. As a horror writer, that’s really all you need for inspiration.

CTC:       As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

AL:          Be a scientist. Tried that, can’t recommend it 100%, but it gave me a lot of ideas for the books I’m writing now.

CTC:       Again, thank you, Adrienne, for allowing me to take up your time.

You can follow Adrienne Lecter here:

http://adriennelecter.com

http://facebook.com/adriennelecter

https://www.amazon.com/Adrienne-Lecter/e/B016AD26SE/

Adrienne Lecter logo

Leave a Reply

