What do I do now?

Standard

It Began

Clara Thomas is caught on her commute to work as an EMP is unleashed. Not knowing what else to do she and her coworker walk back home. Once the reality of what has happened sinks in, Clara finds herself searching for ways to keep her family safe and survive. She is unprepared and has no idea where to begin.

Lockwood’s first novel in the Zero Power series, It Began: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival, tells the story of survival from the outlook of someone who is not a prepper and has minimal skills. Fortunately, her coworker agrees to help as she is the sole provider for an aged grandmother and a dysfunctional older sister.

I had a hard time reading this book as I did not like the protagonist at all. I could not find it in myself to even feel the least bit of empathy. The story seemed to meander around while attempting to find its purpose. The ending was unfulfilling and left me with no desire to read the sequel.

3 out of 5 stars.

I received this book for free from the author for review consideration. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

Leave a Reply

