Author Archives: Chessy The Cat

About Chessy The Cat

I'm an avid reader, posting reviews and telling tales.

The World Will Be Forever Changed


48 Hours Cover     Darren and Darla Brooks are living their dream in the Ozarks of Missouri. Even though Darren doesn’t have to work he is head of security at The Underground, a storage facility within a mountain carved out by a limestone mining company. Darla has ‘retired’ after selling her successful arms manufacturing firm. A CME has hit three weeks earlier leaving some of the country’s infrastructure struggling. Though warnings were heeded there was only so much that could be done ahead of time as the government has never implemented a hardening program. Now, another CME is headed their way with rumors of something much worse.

Forstchen’s novel, 48 Hours does a decent job of explaining the science behind am EMP causing CME. It also parallels the continuity of government against what is best for humanity. This is a standalone novel that is not tied to The One Second After series.

Once Darren realizes what the government plans to use The Underground for, he and Darla hatch a bold scheme to try and stop them. Lives will be lost. Predictions will come true. The world will be forever changed.

5 out of 5 stars.

Is Revenge Really Worth It?


The Ungovernable Cover     Jim Powell wants to get as many crops in the ground as possible to help him, his family, and his friends make it through the next winter. Boss, aka Captain Ballou, has other plans for Jim. After losing his hand and all his team during the attack at the power plant, he has nothing but revenge on his mind. Now, Jim is a wanted man.

Horton’s seventh novel in The Borrowed World Series, The Ungovernable keeps those in the valley with Jim on their toes as folks from town and neighboring communities attempt to collect the reward for bringing Jim to Boss. Boss is relentless in his pursuit even though he has been ordered to stand down. He covertly gains assistance from those around him. His rage is palatable.

Many in town feel anger toward Jim for taking the opportunity for electricity from them. So when Boss’s flyers show up with Jim’s photo, they are more than happy to try and turn him in. There is more than one trick up Jim’s sleeve. And, things aren’t as they seem.

5 out of 5 stars.

Unholy Origin


Incident on Damascus II cover     Father Nathan Jackson does not discuss his past. The way he carries himself and sometimes uses unexpected brute force to help the less fortunate gives his friends a glimpse into the person he was before. Who was he and what brought him into the priesthood?

Sivils’ fifth novella in the Capital City Characters series, Incident on Damascus II gives us these answers. It is also the strangest of stories to date. Next to Sarah, Father Nathan is one of the most beloved characters in the Inspector Thomas Sullivan series.

5 out of 5 stars.

**This book is expected to be published on June 23, 2020.**

The Past Shapes The Future


Death of a Spy cover     Mark Sava should know by now that when things seem to be going well that something will come along to change that. He’s married with a newborn daughter. His business is running smoothly or as smooth as a spy for hire business can. That is until one of his employees dies.

Mayland’s fourth and seemingly final novel in the Mark Sava Spy Novel series, Death of a Spy follows Sava as he tries to unravel the mystery surrounding his employee’s death. A painting by a woman from his past is found at the scene. Who put it there and why sends him on the most perilous adventure of his life.

Readers get to see another side of Sava that is so unexpected next to his tough CIA operative persona. He must temporarily drop back into spy mode to find the connection between the painting and a much deeper plot. Things do not go well, and he is in a fight for his life.

I hope that this is not the end, but I fear that it is. I will miss Sava and all the regulars.

5 out of 5 stars.

The Need For Weed


The Mountain cover     Ryan Decker has a reputation for leaving a pile of dead bodies in his wake. He seems to be a magnet for bad guys. When the opportunity to leave the Los Angeles area in order to help a friend of Senator Steele’s in northern California becomes available, he hopes to get a break from that legacy. With Harlow Mackenzie and the rest of her team in tow, Ryan encounters something much more sinister than just locating a missing person.

Konkoly’s third novel in The Ryan Decker series, The Mountain is by far the best of the series. It’s highly engaging and draws the reader in so deep that is it hard to put down. The plot twists and turns as often as the roads that lead up the mountain. His world-building is vividly descriptive. The reoccurring support characters get a little more fleshed out. And, the relationship between Ryan and Harlow is integrated in such a way that it doesn’t overwhelm the action.

Senator Steele is committed to righting wrongs no matter how powerful the opposition. This time though she may have wandered into a force she may not be able to reckon with. The heart-pounding ending will leave you wanting more.

5 out of 5 stars.

**This book is expected to be published July 14, 2020**


Rise to that Occasion


Unprepared cover     Mike Crenshaw is an ordinary young man who does his best to stay away from confrontation. When a fast-moving plague grips the world, he becomes the unlikely hero. Unprepared for any type of crisis Mike and his coworker friend, Brice search for anything that or anyone who can help them survive.

Abrahams first novel in The Scourge series, Unprepared is set in the early days of the outbreak within the US. It is the same world as The Traveler Series. Some of the same characters show up in their much younger version. This helps provide their backstory.

It’s a heart-wrenching tale that brings out the true nature of the characters. There’s no place to hide from this plague.

5 out of 5 stars.

A Mother Scorned


The Benders cover     Riley Meemick has managed to escape with Ethan and Clay from the Believers at The Citadel. It is now her mission to find and liberate her Auntie Bell. Fate is a cruel mistress and Riley is taken prisoner only to be sold into a gladiator-type sport. Ethan and Clay are captured by Clay’s deranged mother and are used in her twisted experiments.

French’s third novel in The Breeders series, The Benders continues to explore the romance between Riley and Clay in a dystopian world where fertile women are a prized commodity. As with the other books in this series, it is fast passed and full of tension.

There are six books in this series as this review is written. I plan to read them all. The world-building is some of the best I’ve read.

5 out of 5 stars.