Tag Archives: Genetic Engineering



Cavatica Weller is trapped outside of the Juniper, and she is illegal within the old United States of America. Life has dealt her a crap sandwich, and she seems to have given up. The young man she loved betrayed her and her family. Don’t count her out yet!

Ritchey’s fifth novel The Juniper Wars series, War Girls has each of the Weller girls go through some complicated changes. The story is both heartwarming and heartbreaking. Some familiar characters in previous books pop back in when you least expect it. And of course, our favorite priest is back in the saddle again.

As much as I love this series, I had thought that this was going to be the last book. Fortunately, it leaves open the possibility for one more.

5 out of 5 stars.

Out Foxed


Earth of Foxes cover     Freya Walker is not content to sit still and wait to see if the Biocentrics will attack again. While most of the clans seek shelter further into the rainforest, Freya gathers a group to take out the Biocentrics once and for all. Realizing they are undermanned and outgunned they seek another clan to join in their quest. They plan to use Cassidy Warden, a Biocentric governess to help them gain entrance into the stronghold.

Fanning’s third novel in The Red Fox Series, Earth of Foxes concludes Frey’s story. It is a long book and much better written than the second one. I was a little skeptical at first, but it turned out to be a very good story with a satisfying conclusion.

As the saying goes, not everything is as it appears. And, that can be said more than once throughout this book. Though Freya is the main protagonist we also see things from Khar’s point of view. What surprised me the most was Fanning’s ability to make me cry.

Five out of five stars.

New Beginnings


Grounded cover     Mike Crenshaw, his girlfriend, and his best friend decide it is time for them to search out family in hopes that they have survived the Scourge and/or the upheaval that followed. The remainder of their group stays on to search out the rumored utopia of central Florida. The government is desperately trying to re-engineer the virus to suit its nefarious purposes. And, the Cartel is taking hold in the territory formerly known as Texas.

Abrahams’ third and final novel in The Scourge series, Grounded follows each group as they grapple with the new normal. Life is hard; and survival is harder. There are several story arcs to follow. Some tie directly to The Traveler Series. Others follow the new characters.

It is interesting to see how many of The Traveler Series supporting characters arrived in their positions. Though in at least one case the plunge in their career is not fully developed.

4 out of 5 stars.

Who Is In Control?


Adrift cover     Mike Crenshaw and his new friends have been adrift at sea just off the coast of Florida for almost six months. Their time has been fraught with would-be pirates. They believe that now is the time for them to come ashore and see what has become of civilization. Little do they know that the government is conspiring to weaponize the Scourge.

Abrahams’ second novel in The Scourge series, Adrift shows how Mike and his friends grow in this new dystopian world. It’s either adapt or die. Death comes more often than not. Trust is hard to come by. Friendship bonds are tested, and romantic relationships grow.

Power struggles from within the government will expand outside their current boundaries. Control is the ultimate goal.

5 out of 5 stars.

To Believe Is To Die


The Believers cover

Riley Meemick has successfully rescued her mother from The Breeders. But, not before they implanted one of their experimental fetuses into her. The road is hard on Riley’s mother as the baby is growing at an accelerated rate. A group of mutants capture Riley and her group and take them to the self-proclaimed Messiah at the Citadel. Their intent is for the group to join the believers and consume the tainted holy water as a display of faith. All Riley wants to do is to escape and find her Auntie.

French’s second novel in The Breeders series, The Believers is a dystopian romance. It’s an easy read and is paced well. The editing is much better than the first book. The story is sad and at times heartbreaking.

The Breeders are relentless in the pursuit of any free female. They will not give up their search for Riley. Hopefully, with Clay’s help, she can stay hidden.

4 out of 5 stars.

Asking Questions May Get You Killed


After Impact cover

Avalon Adams is woken from a cryogenic sleep 100 years after an asteroid struck Earth. She is among the 5,000 chosen to reestablish civilization. Her awakening was triggered by accident and before her scheduled time. She could have easily died if Ilium, the resident physician hadn’t been close by.

The society set up within HOPE (Humanity’s One Plan for Escape), the underground facility designed by her father, is not at all like the world she left behind. Not only that but people are dying from a virus they were all supposedly vaccinated against when they entered the habitat. People are also disappearing without a trace. And, a cryptic message left for her by her father to trust no one leaves Avalon feeling all alone.

Ilium seems to be trustworthy and has sworn to protect her. Then there is the President’s son, Kael, who seems genuinely attracted to her. Can she find out what is going on by getting close to Kael without losing the friendship she has with Ilium? Love triangles are so overdone and cliché.

Stark’s first novel in the After Impact series, After Impact, is billed as a futurist dystopian with a mysterious twist. It is more of a new adult who-done-it. Avalon is too curious to let things play out. She must know who or what is causing the viral deaths and to what end.

About halfway through the book, things turn paranormal. I was unprepared for that. There was nothing up to that point or in the book’s description that leads you to expect it. I’m not a fan of paranormal, so it was hard for me to keep reading. But, this in no way affects the review.

Avalon’s character is 18 and still full of teenage angst. Several of the other characters, while supposedly older by a few years, exhibit childish behavior. Based on the reasoning for which they were chosen I would have expected more maturity.

This book is a fast-paced, engaging read. The writing is obviously by a new author who has a lot of potential. It will be interesting to see what Stark does in the next book of the series.

4 out of 5 stars.

I received this book for free from the author for review consideration. This in no way affected my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Will mankind become extinct?



Dr. Peyton Shaw of the CDC has been sent to Kenya to isolate and stop a mysterious Ebola-like disease. That is what she does best. It’s her life’s work. Within a matter of days, the disease has infected the globe. And, Peyton has been pulled into a battle for the very existence of mankind.

Riddle’s first novel in The Extinction Files, Pandemic, is a very detailed account of how the CDC, WHO, and other response groups handle an epidemic outbreak. Couple that with an ancient organization that believes it is saving the human race and you have a fantastic mystery to solve. There are layers upon layers of interconnections that will keep you guessing throughout the entire book.

Pandemic is a very long book, but so worth the read. Riddle does an excellent job of building the backstory and pulling together all the pieces in the mystery. He truly brings forth a quality product. I look forward to the sequel.

5 out of 5 stars.