Tag Archives: Russell Blake

The Illusion Of Sanctuary


the day after never 7 cover

Lucas Shaw runs into trouble everywhere he goes. No matter how hard he tries to go towards home he ends up helping others fend off or vanquish evil. Meanwhile, those in Shangri-La are fighting their own battles to survive. And, the Illuminati have their hands stirring the pot against those who do not want their rule.

Russell’s eighth novel in The Day After Never series, Legion follows Lucas as he winds his way back to Sierra and the kids. There seems to be a never-ending series of potholes he must navigate to get there. The crazy self-proclaimed prophet from book seven leads his people to exact revenge on the folks Shangri-La. Will any of them find sanctuary?

I love this series, but I’m ready for it to come to conclusion. There are only so many ways Lucas can escape death.

5 out of 5 stars.

Where’s The Originality?


Quantum Synapse cover

Veritas Grey isn’t whom he thinks he is. When he discovers the truth, he finds himself caught in a fight for the future of humanity. The world is not as it seems. There are secrets dating back to the dawn of time that shakes the very core of man’s existence. Will Ver and his new friend, Selena do what must be done to tip the scales in their favor?

Blake’s latest novel, Quantum Synapse is the tired old tale where one man is the savior of the world. Add that to a retelling of The Matrix and you have a predictable story with no surprises. It has non-stop action and some cute moments. Otherwise, it isn’t all that interesting.

For someone with Blake’s talent, this is a major disappointment. No originality. The only redeeming quality is the fact that the main character is endearing.

2 out of 5 stars.

There’s a New Army on the Horizon


Havoc cover

Lucas Shaw wants nothing more than to go home and be with Sierra and the kids. He keeps getting sucked into battles keeping him on the west coast. When Shangri-La is attacked he is away in one of these fights and unaware of the danger to his family. With no reliable outside contact neither Lucas or the folks in Shangri-La know anything about the Crew and their plans. It seems nothing is settled and no one can feel safe.

Blake’s seventh novel in The Day After Never series, Havoc – Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian Thriller is another fast-paced, hard-hitting story. There seems to be no peace for anyone. New enemies emerge while others try to reestablish themselves.

I found myself immediately sucked into the book. Blake has a way of piquing your interest and teasing you with more. There’s definitely room for at least another 2 or 3 novels in this series. I hope that he doesn’t stop any time soon.

5 out of 5 stars.


Time to Take a Stand



Lucas wants to leave and head back to his family. But, as luck would have it Astoria is invaded by the Chinese. In the process of evacuating the town to Newport, his friend, Ruby and some of the other ladies are captured. In Portland, the biker gang is relocating to Salem to escape the radiation poisoning. No matter which way Lucas turns he has a battle to fight.

Blake’s sixth novel in The Day After Never series, Perdition, asks the question ‘do you keep running or take the fight to the enemy?’ And, there are multiple enemies.

This is one of the best books in this series.

5 out of 5 stars.

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished


Insurrection Cover

Lucas and a team from Shangri La head out to Washington state to deliver vaccine to a like-minded group for reproduction and distribution. As with everything in this post-apocalyptic world the journey is fraught with danger. There are those that would have the vaccine to give only to a chosen few. The New World Order has their fingers in every pie.

Blake’s fifth novel in The Day After Never series, Insurrection, takes us away from the main group at Shangri La and presents us with new characters and new challenges. Lucas remains every vigilant and uncovers more nefarious plans than he had anticipated.

A very gritty tale that is beginning to bring bigger pieces of the puzzle to light. I look forward to the next installment.

5 out of 5 stars.

Who Rules the World Behind the Scenes?


Retribution Cover

The folks from Shangri La have relocated to Colorado after battling The Crew at their hidden valley. Knowing the leader of The Crew would stop at nothing to kill them all to stop the production of a vaccine for the 2nd generation super flu they had no choice but to move. The Crew has had a change in leadership due to demise of Magnus. Snake is trying hard to claim the title by dispatching any opposition. And, Lucas is making good on his promise to help Sierra find her son, if he is still alive.

Blake’s fourth novel in The Day After Never series, Retribution, is full of new unknowns and new powerbrokers lending to a fast-paced story full of action. The story is bigger than just that of Lucas. The entire world is at stake and there are those working behind the scenes to push their agenda.

This book is to me the best one of the entire series. I can’t wait until the next installment is published.

5 out of 5 stars.

Can Shangri La be Defended?


Covenant Cover

Lucas finally gets Sierra and Eve to Shangri La only to have The Crew mount an attack against them. Will The Crew be able to make the trek across Texas into New Mexico and through the Apache territory with their dilapidated vehicles? Can a peaceful village of 200 available fighters survive an attack by 1,000 hard core killers? Mistakes by either side will be deadly.

Blake’s third installment of The Day After Never series, Covenant, is by far the most action packed. Sierra continues to be an enigma and acts without thinking. Secondary characters are more fully developed in this book which tends to make the story more well-rounded. The first half of the story builds up to a fact paced second half where most of the action happens.

Great transition novel. This series continues to get better and better.

5 out of 5 stars.