Tag Archives: Vigilante Justice

Paying For Your Sins


The Tree of Penance cover

Jesse Townsend has made it as far as Arkansas on his trek from Colorado to Tennessee in his search for his sister, Molly. Trouble has found him once again and delayed his journey. His sense of justice puts him right in the middle of a power struggle. Which side will prevail? And, at what costs to both sides?

Bird’s third novel in the Society Lost series, The Tree of Penance (A Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian Thriller) is full of nail-biting action. The book is so smoothly written that you don’t realize how far you’ve read until you are finished. It’s an interesting read with both heartbreaking sadness and satisfaction.

If you are fond of tales from the old West, you will certainly enjoy the feeling that this story brings. Jesse is reminiscent of Josey Wales whose character was made famous by Clint Eastwood. I believe Jesse is more of a gentleman than Josey and more willing to help others.

5 out of 5 stars.


Too Good To Be True


Vigilante Darkness

Levi Levins is on a short vacation before starting his new job after just having retired from the military. What was an idyllic second honeymoon turns into a tragedy for all ages when the world is hit with a CME. Levi loses everything. The question is will he keep his humanity in these dark times?

Deane’s first book in the Vigilante series, Into the Darkness: American Post Apocalyptic EMP Thriller is an adult novel with the violence and language therein. It disappoints by being written on a seventh-grade level. While the English is impeccable it is very simplistic. What bothered me the most though were all the misplaced or missing quotation marks for conversations. That broke up the story and was distracting.  There were also a couple of timeframe errors that had me going back and forth to make certain that I had not missed anything.

All in all, the story had potential but fell flat. I will not continue the series.

2 out of 5 stars.

Is This The Last Battle?


Battle Cover

*****RELEASES OCTOBER 30, 2017*****

Marcus Battle had hoped that residing in what was left of the small town of Baird, Texas as their sheriff would lead to a peaceful coexistence with the post-apocalyptic world south of the wall. His past decided otherwise. It followed him with a larger than life profile of the man who wanted only to be left alone. Some called him ‘Mad Max’ and a legend was born. They came from far and wide, alone or in small groups, to challenge Battle in a duel. They seek fame and fortune in hopes of being the one that bested Marcus. Many tried and all failed.

Meanwhile, something is brewing north of the wall in the area reclaimed by the government. A storm is coming. A storm worse than the Scourge. A storm that could bring a second apocalypse. And, it’s headed towards Texas.

Marcus is growing weary. He’s older now. His body reminds him of all his past transgressions. Death seems to follow him wherever he goes. All he wants is to live a quiet life away from his past. Will this new threat finally be his downfall or will he walk away from it and everything else forever?

Abrahams’ fifth novel in The Traveler series, Battle: A Post Apocalyptic/Dystopian Adventure, follows Marcus in the waning years of his life. He has loved and lost it all twice. Twice as many as any man should have to bear. He lives on the edge of insanity. He is reckless and cunning. But, is his time running out?

Life appears to be back to normal north of the wall. There is electricity, clean water, and jobs. But, looks can be deceiving. What is the price one must pay to enjoy all those things? And, who decides? Is life really any different north of the wall?

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had one of the funniest scenes I’ve ever read. “Marcus, however, was not the skilled thrower that Lou was, and the handle hit the guard instead of the blade. It bounced harmlessly to the ground.” I found that to be hilarious especially since the scene itself was so intense. You’ll have to read the book to fully appreciate how funny that really is.

5 out of 5 stars.

I received this book for free from the author for review consideration. This in no way affected my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Vigilante Justice Served



Jesse Townsend has lost everything and wants nothing but to find his sister in Tennessee. On his trek from Colorado he encounters injustices that he cannot ignore. It is the right thing to do and JT would rather die helping than walking away.

Bird’s second novel in the Society Lost series, Betrayal, JT travels alone lost in dark thoughts that have all but broken him. Willing to be a lone vigilante if needed JT sets out to rescue those imprisoned at the hands of despots. His spirit is renewed once he finds others that will stand along his side against the evils this new society has unleashed.

This book takes good look at how a man can find new purpose in his life. I look forward to reading the next installment of JT’s adventure. It’s a long way to Tennessee.

5 out of 5 stars.

Refuge Lost


The Shepherd

Jesse Townsend is a former sheriff who now lives up in the Rocky Mountains with his family. He sought refuge once he lost the election and saw what appeared to be the coming downfall of society. Raising sheep is the family’s main food source which has increasing been threatened by wolves. Now it seems that man may be an even more formidable predator.

Bird’s first novel in the Society Lost series, The Shepherd, follows JT as he tries to keep his family safe in a post-apocalyptic world. This new world was brought about by a greedy bunch who aligned themselves with the worst of society to reshape it into a one world society. JT thought his preparations and seclusion in the mountains would spare them from the effects of this unholy alliance.

This book had a twist in it that slapped my upside my head. I was totally unprepared for it and quite heartbroken over it. It is a darned good story and I highly recommend it. Can’t wait for the next book in the series.

5 out of 5 stars. I wish I could give it 6.

Escape from New York


The Last Layover cover

Evan, Jason, and Peggy are part of a flight crew that is on a layover In New York City when explosions take out the grid. Their crewmember, Glen, has gone out partying and does not return. Evan and Jason are preppers with a plan to get home and hopefully survive this very type of event. Peggy is young and naïve enough to have never even considered anything like this happening. As the world around them deteriorates, Peggy has a hard time coming to the grasps with the new reality. Will she suck it up and follow Evan’s and Jason’s leads or will she become a burden that costs them time and lives?

Bird’s first novel in The New Homefront series, The Last Layover, follows the crew as they try to make it home. In this case home is Kentucky, Ohio, and Tennessee. As they travel they find out that theirs was not an isolated incident. Within a matter of hours, the worst of people who have become dependent on instantaneous gratification comes out making the journey hazardous at best and very possibly deadly.

The story in and of itself is a good one. It is paced well and edited well. The characters were not very well developed which is a bit disappointing. There was the use of some slang terminology that evidently meant something to the author but that I could not find explanations for anywhere online.

4 out of 5 stars.